Uganda has a total of 16 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
New Year's Day Monday January 1 public
Liberation Day Friday January 26 public
Ash Wednesday Wednesday February 14 observance
Archbishop Janan Luwum Day Friday February 16 public
International Women's Day Thursday March 8 public
Good Friday Friday March 30 public
Easter Sunday Sunday April 1 public
Easter Monday Monday April 2 public
Labour Day Tuesday May 1 public
Martyr's Day Sunday June 3 public
National Heroes Day Saturday June 9 public
End of Ramadan (Eid al-Fitr) Friday June 15 public
Feast of the Sacrifice (Eid al-Adha) Tuesday August 21 public
Independence Day Tuesday October 9 public
Christmas Day Tuesday December 25 public
Boxing Day Wednesday December 26 public