Tanzania, United Republic of has a total of 16 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
New Year's Day Monday January 1 public
Zanzibar Revolution Day Tuesday January 2 public
Good Friday Friday March 30 public
Easter Sunday Sunday April 1 observance
Easter Monday Monday April 2 public
Karume Day Saturday April 7 public
Union Day Thursday April 26 public
Labour Day Tuesday May 1 public
End of Ramadan (Eid al-Fitr) Friday June 15 public
Saba Saba Day Saturday July 7 public
Nane Nane Day Wednesday August 8 public
Feast of the Sacrifice (Eid al-Adha) Tuesday August 21 public
Nyerere Day Sunday October 14 public
Maulid Day Tuesday November 20 public
Independence Day Sunday December 9 public
Christmas Day Wednesday December 26 public