New Zealand has a total of 14 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
New Year's Day Monday January 1 public
Day after New Year's Day Tuesday January 2 public
Provincial anniversary day Monday December 3 public
Waitangi Day Tuesday February 6 public
Good Friday Friday March 30 public
Easter Sunday Sunday April 1 observance
Easter Monday Monday April 2 public
ANZAC Day Wednesday April 25 public
Queen's Birthday Monday June 4 public
Labour Day Monday October 22 public
Christmas Day Tuesday December 25 public
Boxing Day Wednesday December 26 public
Christchurch Show Day Sunday December 16 public
Dominion Day Monday September 24 public