Japan has a total of 24 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
元日 Monday January 1 public
銀行休業日 Wednesday January 3 bank
成人の日 Monday January 8 public
建国記念の日 Sunday February 11 public
建国記念の日 (代替日) Monday February 12 public
春分の日 Wednesday March 21 public
昭和の日 Sunday April 29 public
昭和の日 (代替日) Monday April 30 public
憲法記念日 Thursday May 3 public
みどりの日 Friday May 4 public
こどもの日 Saturday May 5 public
海の日 Monday July 16 public
山の日 Saturday August 11 public
敬老の日 Monday September 17 public
秋分の日 Sunday September 23 public
秋分の日 (代替日) Monday September 24 public
体育の日 Monday October 8 public
文化の日 Saturday November 3 public
七五三 Thursday November 15 observance
勤労感謝の日 Friday November 23 public
天皇誕生日 Sunday December 23 public
天皇誕生日 (代替日) Monday December 24 public
ノエル Tuesday December 25 observance
大晦日 Monday December 31 bank