Iceland has a total of 28 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
Nýársdagur Monday January 1 public
Þrettándinn Saturday January 6 observance
Bóndadagur Friday January 19 observance
Bolludagur Monday February 12 observance
Sprengidagur Tuesday February 13 observance
Öskudagur Wednesday February 14 observance
Konudagur Sunday February 18 observance
Pálmasunnudagur Sunday March 25 observance
Skírdagur Thursday March 29 public
Föstudagurinn langi Friday March 30 public
Páskadagur Sunday April 1 public
Annar í páskum Monday April 2 public
Sumardagurinn fyrsti Thursday April 19 public
Hátíðisdagur Verkamanna Tuesday May 1 public
Uppstigningardagur Thursday May 10 public
Mæðradagurinn Sunday May 13 observance
Hvítasunnudagur Sunday May 20 public
Annar í hvítasunnu Monday May 21 public
Sjómannadagurinn Sunday June 3 observance
Íslenski þjóðhátíðardagurinn Sunday June 17 public
Frídagur verslunarmanna Monday August 6 public
Fyrsti vetrardagur Saturday October 27 observance
Dagur íslenskrar tungu Friday November 16 observance
Þorláksmessa Sunday December 23 observance
Aðfangadagur Monday December 24 public
Jóladagur Tuesday December 25 public
Annar í jólum Wednesday December 26 public
Gamlársdagur Monday December 31 public