Hungary has a total of 22 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
Újév Monday January 1 public
A köztársaság emléknapja Thursday February 1 observance
A kommunista diktatúrák áldozatainak emléknapja Sunday February 25 observance
Nemzetközi nőnap Thursday March 8 observance
Nemzeti ünnep Tuesday October 23 public
Húsvétvasárnap Sunday April 1 public
Húsvéthétfő Monday April 2 public
A holokauszt áldozatainak emléknapja Monday April 16 observance
A munka ünnepe Tuesday May 1 public
Anyák napja Sunday May 6 observance
Pünkösdvasárnap Sunday May 20 public
Honvédelmi nap Monday May 21 observance
Pünkösdhétfő Monday May 21 public
A nemzeti összetartozás napja Monday June 4 observance
A független Magyarország napja Tuesday June 19 observance
Szent István ünnepe Monday August 20 public
Az aradi vértanúk emléknapja Saturday October 6 observance
Mindenszentek Thursday November 1 public
Mikulás, Télapó Thursday December 6 observance
Karácsony Tuesday December 25 public
Karácsony másnapja Wednesday December 26 public
Szilveszter Monday December 31 observance