Costa Rica has a total of 12 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
Año Nuevo Monday January 1 public
Jueves Santo Thursday March 29 public
Viernes Santo Friday March 30 public
Pascua Sunday April 1 observance
Gesta Heroica de Juan Santamaría Wednesday April 11 public
Fiesta del trabajo Tuesday May 1 public
Anexión del Partido de Nicoya Wednesday July 25 public
Día de la Virgen de los Ángeles Thursday August 2 public
Día de la Madre Wednesday August 15 public
Día de la Independencia Saturday September 15 public
Día de la Raza Friday October 12 public
Navidad Tuesday December 25 public