Switzerland has a total of 16 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
Neujahr Monday January 1 public
Karfreitag Friday March 30 public
Ostersonntag Sunday April 1 public
Ostermontag Monday April 2 public
Auffahrt Thursday May 10 public
Muttertag Sunday May 13 observance
Pfingstmontag Monday May 21 public
Bundesfeier Wednesday August 1 public
Weihnachtstag Tuesday December 25 public
Stephanstag Wednesday December 26 public
Berchtoldstag Tuesday January 2 public
Josefstag Monday March 19 public
Fronleichnam Thursday May 31 public
Mariä Himmelfahrt Wednesday August 15 public
Allerheiligen Thursday November 1 public
Heilige Drei Könige Saturday January 6 public