Australia has a total of 26 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Name of Holiday Day Date Type
New Year's Day Monday January 1 public
Australia Day Friday January 26 public
Canberra Day Monday March 12 public
Good Friday Friday March 30 public
Easter Saturday Saturday March 31 public
Easter Sunday Sunday April 1 observance
Easter Monday Monday April 2 public
ANZAC Day Wednesday April 25 public
Queen's Birthday Monday June 11 public
Family & Community Day Monday September 24 public
Labour Day Monday March 5 public
Christmas Eve Monday December 24 observance
Christmas Day Tuesday December 25 public
Boxing Day Wednesday December 26 public
New Year's Eve Monday December 31 observance
Bank Holiday Monday August 6 bank
May Day Monday May 7 public
Picnic Day Monday August 6 public
March public holiday Monday March 12 public
Eight Hours Day Monday March 12 public
Easter Tuesday Tuesday April 3 optional
Royal Hobart Regatta Monday February 12 public
Recreation Day Monday November 5 public
Grand Final Friday Friday September 28 public
Melbourne Cup Tuesday November 6 public
Western Australia Day Monday June 4 public